Villanelle

Never for not Always

Yours is the beautiful bounteous dear darling most ever
in all the worlds, most amazing, until now and then,
for here and always, in my eyes, never for never.

Yours is the hand on the gallows’ lever;
yours is the authority and the final say, the last amen.
Yours is the beautiful bounteous dear darling most, ever.

When was this (us we you and me) ever for forever?
Our vow was signed and sealed and shipped (x10)
for here and always, in my eyes, never for never.

Did I say I love you? I’ll say this: you’re clever
with your fingernails and lips (and once more always and again,
yours is the beautiful bounteous deardarlingmostever).

And so before we part and sever
the you and me from we, before I put away my pen
for here and always, in my eyes, never for never,

this stanza is my last endeavor:
I ask you why you worry when,
for here and always, in my eyes, never for never,
yours is the beautiful bounteous dear, darling, most ever?

2 Responses

  1. I love this! You write beautifully. I can sense the honesty behind your words.

    • Thanks so much! If you like this poem, you might like e.e. cummings’ work. I’ve been reading him a lot lately, and his style definitely influenced me when I wrote this.

Leave a Reply

