free verse

Enough

I know words for times of crying
I know words fit for embraces
I know words to say when silence is too much
I know words with wrinkled faces
I know words who have swum oceans
I know words whose hands you would not shake
I know words who you would like to kiss
I know words whose music makes men weep

They speak to me in the night
They sound all at once
They drown me in themselves
and I thank them with a silence
that language never knows

I give you words too soft for speaking
I give you words who bruise your arms
I give you words who make you close your eyes
I give you words who leave you hungry
I give you words who know your secrets
I give you words too deep for wonder

Take them
Take them all
Wrap yourself in them to keep you warm
Hold them above you in the rain
and let them carry you when all else fails

9 Responses

  1. love the word flow.
    well done.

    • Thanks, glad you liked it!

  2. I know well that need and appreciate it in others too. I’m glad your poem remind me of that!

  3. I love the last stanza.

    This could be a song. Authentic. I feel much the same – words – “wrap yourself in them to keep warm.” Pretty wonderful.

    • It’s interesting that you think it could be a song; I actually started writing this poem by singing through the lines. I just recorded a version of it, and the music needs a bit of refining, but if it turns out well, I might post it here.

      Thanks for reading!

    • My latest post is the song that I came up with for this poem. You should check it out! My friend and I who write songs together find that we often have very different ideas about what music best fits a poem, so I’d be curious to hear your thoughts about my rendition of this poem and whether or not the music I wrote corresponds at all to what you had imagined when you first read it.

  4. Beautifully written….

  5. Precious words!
    You have a good vocabulary, I guess, playing with them quite nicely 🙂

Leave a Reply

