free verse

Encounter

I am still here.
Word for word and line for line,
I am.
I am ten steps behind,
always until the one and only rapture
of tomorrow and the moment
of all moments of eternity
when you turn, never too soon,
to see me in this world
that is really truly passionately
alive with us,
but in this now,
in this, the final hour
of our long walk through
the underworld,
you are my up-going,
my above, my sky, my floating,
and it is only the heavy silence
of all the not-yous
that keep me weighted
here to this spot of earth.
Clinging to the space between us,
I see tomorrow coming,
and your soul that is so solely full
of holes it is not holy
is letting sunlight through
and I am walking on all
the green leaves growing in the sunshine
streaming from your spirit.
God knew long ago that
we wanted the earth and each other
more than any fated heaven he held,
and when we reach the last cliff
of the walk to our rapturous tomorrow,
we will leap, heels up,
knowing that falling is a way of flying
and that there is eternity in this,
the moment we have,
when all the spaces have been traversed.

One Response

  1. free verse is cool…

    fabulous word flow.
    Greetings,

    How is your day?

    Please share 1 to 3 poems with Jingle Poetry potluck today,
    Have fun!

    Love your talent, and appreciate your support very much!

    Old poems or poems unrelated to our theme are all welcome!
    Click on my link to visit and view the collection!
    All free and fun,
    Hope to see you share.

    xoxox

Leave a Reply

